Play of Light by Debra Doxer

play of light

BOOK: Play of Light by Debra Doxer

MY RATING FOR IT : 4 STARS

SYNOPSIS

I lived in paradise, and I loved Spencer Pierce.

At fourteen, my life was perfect. The beach was my playground, and the boy who stole my heart lived just around the corner. But perfect never lasts. In one horrifying moment, I lost it all. My family was destroyed, and the boy I believed in turned his back on me. Paradise became a nightmare.

That was five years ago. Everything changed when we moved from our home by the sea. I’ve changed, and I don’t like who I’ve become. I miss the smiling, carefree beach girl who disappeared that terrible night. I want to find her again. I want to face the people we ran from so long ago. Most of all, I have to face Spencer. So I can prove that when he broke my heart, he didn’t break me.

But when I see him again, Spencer Pierce is no longer the boy from my memories. He’s now a man who could devastate me if I let him. He watches me when he thinks I’m not looking. There’s regret written on his face when he’s near. Each time I see him, my heart aches for what might have been, and I think his does too. How can I convince myself I’m over him when I suspect he never got over me?

MY THOUGHTS ABOUT IT 

This is my first Debra Doxer book, and I had absolutely no idea what to expect , I started it with an opened mind , and I found my self getting wrap up in the plot.

sarah6spencer

The story is about a girl named Sarah and an older boy Spencer , they live near each other , but they have very different lives , while Sarah has a loving family , Spencer lost both parents and is living with his abusive uncle, Sarah tries to be his friend , and falls for him in the process, he shows that he cares for her (maybe too much)

“I knew it would be you,” he said. “I knew you were the one to stay away from.” Blinking rapidly, I reared my head back at his words. He sat there, dangling his hands between his bent knees. My eyes burned with unshed tears. I hadn’t imagined it. He was distancing himself from me on purpose. What did he mean, I was the one to stay away from? Because I saw too much?

But there’s an event that changes their friendship and their lives are never the same when  they get separated.

“I fell in love with Spencer Pierce the day he saved me from the Pirates.”

Years pass and they see each other after she goes back to her old town for the answers that she needs to move on , but she cant’ denied the feeling that she still has for Spencer and apparently neither does he.

Would you ever love me enough to want to spend forever with me?”

“Music did save me,” he agreed. “But it wasn’t the only thing.” He cleared his throat and gland away for a moment.

One could think that this a very hard genre to write about because there are so many novels about young adults and their quest to their past to find happiness after some tragedy, but this book is refreshing , it’s a simple plot but very well-developed, and very enticing to read , the characters on Sarah and Spencer are lovely and complicated , full of deep feelings ans longing.

I didn’t know what was going to happen next and that was one of the reason to be so in to this book ,  and there was kind of intrigue plot also , but the love story was beautiful as well

I don’t want to explained the plot I just want  to say that this book was very fun to read it was an easy read, and it stirs something in me , I kind of remember what it was like to love at such a young age.the first and true love ,and the hurt of feeling the lost of it.

I really liked it was very nicely written and very endearing

4 STARS

ARC kindly provided  via NetGalley, in exchange for an honest review

Leave a comment

Filed under 4 stars reviews

Leave a Reply

