Personal Geography (The Compass #1) by Tamsen Parker

15663266840_63b90839dfBOOK: Personal Geography (The Compass #1)

MY RATING FOR IT: 4 STARS

SYNOPSIS

Powerhouse consultant India Burke is notorious for her razor-sharp mind, her incisive tongue, and for always being in control. But during her “lost weekends”—out-of-town, one-and-done, anonymous rendezvous solely for the purpose of kinky sex—she craves a submissive role.

Cris Ardmore, India’s latest tryst, is a Dominant who calls an isolated Hawaiian paradise home. India’s expecting forty-eight hours of contractually defined sex, but instead of serving as just another BDSM Band-Aid, Cris wants to know the real India Burke. Despite her aversion to anything approaching intimacy, India is hooked by their incredible sexual chemistry.

With tension ratcheting up in her professional life, India needs the release Cris offers more than ever, but her repeated visits come with their own risks. No matter how strong their attraction, India is determined to maintain her boundaries in order to keep her life whole after her first love blew it apart. She must choose between taking a chance and handing Cris the road map to her heart or locking down her borders before he does any more damage.

MY THOUGHTS ABOUT IT 

Well this one was hard to figure out , the thing about this book was , that I was kind of stalling to read it and , finally I decided that  it was time , so I started it knowing very little about it , and even less about the author , but it seemed nice enough so I went for it .

At first I was kind of put out, because I found it to be a bit slow , but I decided to follow through  and I’m so glad I did !!! because once I dived in to the story I could  really see , I mean really see the intricate and beautiful way the story was told by this author.

this is certainly not my first BDSM book , not by a long shot , but it most certainly is the first one where I feel that it was so truthfully told , it didn’t feel fake , it felt like it was so real , and the characters where real people , with real lives and not this made up personas , that sometimes are the main characters in this stories.

The writing in this book was amazing ,it was nicely written, the flow of it was very smooth, it was a joy to read.

The characters where amazing , the character of India Burke was full of depth and so many levels to her , it was so interesting to get in her head and figure  the reasons of her craving and found out why was that she felt so close of to the rest of the world.

The male characters where great, Criss was a breath of fresh air , such tender but firm male, very different from what one is used to see in this tips of book.

The sex scenes where hot , not necessarily scorching hot , but enough hotness to keep the reader interesting.

The character lead full complicated lives and that a I found to be a plus for the story.

I don’t want to give the plot away because the story is better to be discovered by each one of the readers , it’s not full of surprises , but I think in its simplicity it’s the key to the story.

The only thing that got me worked up was the terrible ending , that cliffhanger was brutal , and now I’m desperate to know what’s going t happened.

all in all it was a very nice read to me.

ARC provided via NetGalley for an honest review.

4 STARS

Leave a comment

Filed under 4 stars reviews

Leave a Reply

