The Crossfire Series ( Crossfire1-3 ) by Sylvia Day

Crossfire

Book:The Crossfire Series

My Rating for it : 5 stars

SYNOPSIS 

Gideon Cross came into my life like lightning in the darkness…

He was beautiful and brilliant, jagged and white-hot. I was drawn to him as I’d never been to anything or anyone in my life. I craved his touch like a drug, even knowing it would weaken me. I was flawed and damaged, and he opened those cracks in me so easily…

Gideon knew. He had demons of his own. And we would become the mirrors that reflected each other’s most private wounds…and desires.The bonds of his love transformed me, even as i prayed that the torment of our pasts didn’t tear us apart…

As beautiful and flawless on the outside as he was damaged and tormented on the inside. He was a bright, scorching flame that singed me with the darkest of pleasures. I couldn’t stay away. I didn’t want to. He was my addiction… my every desire… mine.

My past was as violent as his, and I was just as broken. We’d never work. It was too hard, too painful… except when it was perfect. Those moments when the driving hunger and desperate love were the most exquisite insanity.

We were bound by our need. And our passion would take us beyond our limits to the sweetest, sharpest edge of obsession…

From the moment I first met Gideon Cross, I recognized something in him that I needed. Something I couldn’t resist. I saw the dangerous and damaged soul inside–so much like my own. I was drawn to it. I needed him as surely as I needed my heart to beat.

No one knows how much he risked for me. How much I’d been threatened, or just how dark and desperate the shadow of our pasts would become.

Entwined by our secrets, we tried to defy the odds. We made our own rules and surrendered completely to the exquisite power of possession…

MY THOUGHTS ABOUT IT 

This review is a hard one to write, because this book is one of my go to books of all time, it wasn’t the first one that I read of this genre (the first one was Fifty shades, like a lot of other people) but it was the one that got me hooked on the reading again after so many years of just stopping to do one of my favorite things in the world.

I just love this story even though I know how many people compare it to Fifty , I find very little similarities between the two, I’m not being ungrateful , because I wont be all like “ I don’t like fifty shades of gray” because I did like it when I read it the 5 first times , and I like it still to this day , but The Crossfire was the first Novell that got in to my skin , it was my first hangover book , the one that stuck with me for ages !! You know how that is …. So I have a special place in my heart for this series.

Well it was the fact that I like it so much that has kept me from reading the last one of the books “Captivated by You (Crossfire, #4) “I’ve seen so many mix reviews that I’m a bit fearful of the reaction that I will get if I’m not just blown away by it (I actually pre-order it like so many months ago and it’s been sitting in my kindle for ages)

But the time has come to read it and that’s why I’m starting by re-.reading the first three books, and I’m so in love of Gideon again!!  It’s just like wow!! … Oh God … so ´passionate and so … Haaaaaaaa!!!  Such a strong character.

And Eva was so flawed and so strong at the same time, they are so imperfect but perfect for each other!

I felt the emotional depth of the feeling they shared and that made me able to connect with them, and be more understanding to difficult situations that they put each other trough.

The self esteem issues where hard to read, the trust violations that both of the suffered where terrible , but the way their love heals them at the same time that it makes them stronger was a real joy to read.

Eva was an opinionated leading lady with strong emotions and very set visions on life , and this made it more real to me , because she wasn’t just some poor little naïve girl falling for the perfect millionaire , she was quite worldly her self so she knew what she was getting into with him, and Gideon , “ moment of swoooooon”   he was a GOD !!( a bit jerky at times though )  perfect screwed up men that learns to love when he finds  the woman he never even dream of finding , and he makes many mistakes , a lot of them , but we forgive him , because he’s irresistible.

 “He wasn’t just beautiful; he was enthralling.” 

The Connection between them is so raw and so strong that it made me kind of shiver at times, and it toke to so many places while reading … love it

“I felt drawn to him; as if a rope bound my waist and he were slowly, inexorably pulling it.”

“You look so beautiful and f*ckable. I want you so badly it hurts.”

“Your body belongs to me, Eva” 

These books are a lot about the scaring and healing of two people that went trough unimaginable pain at a young age, all because of sexual trauma that they suffered  and how Love is able to help them see there’s problems ad heal them

“We’re going to be good for each other, Eva”

“You know what happens when you run, angel.” Gideon nipped my lower lip with his teeth, and then soothed the sting with the caress of his tongue. “I catch you.”

The secondary characters are very good to the story, especially Cary, Magdalene, Eva’s Mom and Corinne (which I kind of hate, but kind of understand, I mean she was desperate to get him back … NOT cool though!!) and the Crossfire building is kind of a second character also, because is there during most of the stuff that happens.

Crossfire

Eva is a bit naughty at times and gives Gideon a bit of his own medicine in terms of jalousie (which was well deserved).

 There’s only you Eva.”

“You’re all I want, Eva. There’s no one else. There will never be anyone else.”

The second book had me a bit frustrated at times whit the non answers and the hot and cold thing going , but one does get the reasons at  the very end , but it’s a bit of a hardship at times for the reader to get pass al the frustrating things that Eva goes trough in this one.

The sex gets hotter and hotter as the story goes on, which I may say was AMAZING…

“You’re kisses are mine” (THAT WAS SUCH A HOT SCENE!!)

 

Well the story goes  on  the third book and after my re- read I’m ready to get on the Silvia Day train again , because I just remember why I love my Crossfire fix , and I’ need it bad!!!

 Thank you.”

“What are you thanking me for? You did all the work.”
“There’s no work involved in fucking you, angel.” His slow smile was pure satiated male. “I’m grateful for the privilege.”
I sank back onto my heels. “You’re killing me. You can’t be that gorgeous and sexy and say stuff like that. It’s overload. It fries my brain. Sends me into a meltdown.”
His smile widened and he kissed me again. “I know the feeling.”

   And let me tell you if you haven’t read this book you need to, like ASAP!! BECAUSE YOU NEEED a dose of Gideon Cross in your life, you won’t regret it …

This Is most certainly in my Must reads pile of books for everyone to try at least once …

FIVE STARS

Leave a comment

Filed under 5 stars reviews

Leave a Reply

